Fixing the mixer

A couple of posts ago I mentioned that a project I’ve been meaning to get to is fixing my Mom’s old Kitchenaid mixer.

My Mother was going to throw it away because it was making a grinding sound and shaking when she used it.  I’d like to try to keep it out of the dump so I said that I would try to fix it.  It’s a forty year old machine, it probably weighs about twenty five pounds, and I doubt that newer models are as sturdy as this one. New models can cost about $500, so it could be worthwhile to try to fix it.

After doing some research, I found out that a common problem is that the gear lubricant can dry out, causing the gears to grind, eventually the motor will wear out if the old lubricant is not replaced. I bought some new lubricant, hoping that it wasn’t too late to save it.

The first thing to do is to knock out the pin that holds in the rotary. The little top pin, not the one on the stem below the spring. I almost knocked out that bottom pin, which would have been a big mistake as it’s very difficult to get back in.


Then you take off the rotary.


Then you remove all of those screws. I had to get some screw de-locker oil as those things didn’t want to budge after forty years. 


That brown gunk is dried out gear lubricant. 


I didn’t get a photo of the cleaned off gears as my hands were covered in that old gear goo.  The new lubricant cost $15.  The old screw de-lockenizer oil cost $2.50.


Then you put it all back together and check to see if that fixed it by mixing up a batch of chocolate chip cookies!


Whirrr!   Whirrrrr!   Good as new! 

Let’s bake some cookies!

15 thoughts on “Fixing the mixer

    • I didn’t know it was going to look like that. I watched a video on how to do this, but the demonstration model didn’t look half as bad as that.

  1. Oh, I am so happy for you with this save. 🙂 I have my grandmother’s Kitchenaid that doesn’t work. I can’t bear to throw it away because I have such fond memories of sitting on the kitchen counter and pushing the bowl. So, I asked a friend who fixes things to look at it. He couldn’t fix it but he spray painted it. UGH. Now I have to somehow get that coat of paint off even if I want to sit it on the counter.

    • Nail polish remover might work to get that paint off, or maybe denatured alcohol.

      I should have also written that I usually have no mechanical aptitude. While I enjoy fixing things, I usually have no idea what I’m doing. Mr. C asked me to fix a toy crane recently and I had to consult the ‘Klutz Book of Knots’ to tie the metal hook to the string for the crane. So I’d offer to take a look at your mixer since you’re in New Hampshire but I’m not sure if I’d be any more successful at fixing it than your friend was.

Leave a Reply

