Scrap wood ornaments

What should I do with all these pieces of scrap wood I have from home improvement projects ? Maybe Mr. C will have an idea.

img_0165

I know, Dada, make some ornaments for the tree!

img_0166

After a few hundred cuts with my dremel saw, we have an elf’s Christmas hat.

img_0167

The work bench usually doesn’t look this clean, I did some organizing before taking the photos. Usually there is a pile of random tools stacked up in a pile on the table!  I usually have to search through the pile to find any tools, now they’re in plastic bins.  I’m sure that they’ll all be back in a pile on the work bench soon though.

img_0168

The elf hat joins a star, a tree, and by special request of Mr. C, a dog bone!

The star turned out to the the hardest one to make, I had to remind myself of my high school geometry lessons on how to accurately draw one.  Then I had to track down my compass and protractor to draw a sketch of the star.  I was surprised to find that I still had the same compass that I used in high school!

img_0172

Mr. C did most of the painting, they’re not quite done yet, he still wants to add “2015” to the star, some tiny ornaments to the tree, and he wants to try to add a string of mistletoe to the hat.

Why a dog bone, I don’t know, but here it is on the tree!

img_0182

2 thoughts on “Scrap wood ornaments

Leave a Reply

