New Books

Well, not exactly new books, since they are from a library book sale, but they are new to me.   Since I’m trying to cut down on the number of books I get for myself, I concentrated on finding books for Mr. C at the sale.

IMG_7972

 

Just a few of the books are library discards, most had been donated by local readers for the sale.   I was aware of just a few of these before I picked them up, do you know any of them ?

Hoot by Carl Hiaasen – I didn’t know that Hiaasen had written any children’s books, this one looks like its for older kids.

The Little Bookroom by Eleanor Farjeon –   This is a collection of short stories, with illustrations by Edward Ardizzone.  I will admit to judging this book by the cover since Mr. C loves Ardizzone’s ‘Tim’ series of sea adventure stories.  While I know Edward Ardizzone, I don’t know much about Eleanor Farjeon.

The Little Duke by Charlotte Yonge – This one was apparently written in the 1850’s, much earlier than I had expected.

The Alley by Eleanor Estes – We read ‘Ginger Pye’ earlier this year. This one is a library discard, which I usually avoid since they tend to be damaged or worn out, but this one is in great shape.  I was happy to find this copy as it has all of the original Edward Ardizzone illustrations.  I like how her ‘Ginger Pye’ and ‘Pinky Pye’ books have been reprinted recently.  Both have new cover art, but they retain the Ardizzone illustrations with the interior text.

The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall – I’ve seen this book before, but don’t know much about it besides knowing that it’s the first in a series.

When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead – Another one that I’m sure I’ve seen before.  I only know that it received a Newberry Award in 2009.

The Search for Delicious by Natalie Babbitt – I know Babbitt wrote ‘Tuck Everlasting’, but that’s all.

The Gammage Cup by Carol Kendall – This book was originally published in the UK as ‘The Minnipins’.  I’m not sure why the title was changed for the American market.  From the cover description, the story seems to be similar to ‘The Hobbit’. A group of the minnipins go on a journey in search of the title ‘Gammage Cup’.

The Farthest Away Mountain by Lynne Reid Banks – All I know about Banks is that she wrote ‘The Indian in the Cupboard’.  This one also seems to resemble ‘The Hobbit’, but with a young girl as the main character.

Journey Outside by Mary Steele – This one seems to be a bit odd. It seems to be about an ocean world where people live on rafts. I wonder if it influenced that ‘Water World’ movie from a few years ago.

Hmmm.. where to start ?

 

 

6 thoughts on “New Books

    • I am often more familiar with illustrators than children’s fiction authors since some also work as illustrators of adult fiction. I think I first saw Ardizzone’s work in an edition of ‘Letters From My Windmill’ by Alphonse Daudet.

  1. I don’t know much about children’s books other than old classics, but lucky Mr. C! Wonderful that you are encouraging him to read…especially such interesting-sounding books! I’m a sucker for library books sales myself.

  2. The only one I know is The Furthest Away Mountain I just read it for the first time in the last year. It was recommend by Rarasaur (rarasaur.wordpress.com) and it was great! You’ll have to keep us updated on the best ones!

Leave a Reply

