Invasive or Hardy?

20140619-205059.jpg

When I moved into our current house thirteen years ago, my Dad gave me a clump of these flowers that he had dug up from his yard. I planted them and they immediately died and I forgot about them. I think they’re called Orange Hawkweed, or Pilosella.

Since then, I’ve been mowing over the spot where they were planted. It appeared that nothing but grass was growing there. This year, for a number of reasons I didn’t get a chance to mow the lawn until mid-May. I tend to pay less attention to the lawn than to the garden anyway. By then the lawn was getting shaggy, and I noticed that these flowers had returned.

I didn’t think that it would be possible for it to have survived being mowed every Summer for the past thirteen years, but there it is. Apparently it’s considered a noxious weed in several states in the Western US, and can not be imported into Australia.

It’s not considered noxious here in New Hampshire, so if it wants to take over part of the lawn that’s ok. Less mowing for me to do.

2 thoughts on “Invasive or Hardy?

    • It has a nice red-orange color. I had no idea it is considered invasive until I looked it up tonight. Depends on local conditions I guess. At a previous house every tree was slowly being killed by bittersweet vines. Luckily there are none of those vines here.

Leave a Reply

