Spelling Counts

Like a lot of parents, we get excited when Mr. C makes any kind of advance in learning.  While driving to my parent’s house in Vermont recently, he saw a highway sign at the border and asked ‘What does ‘I heart shape vermont’ mean ?’.   We were quite excited and would have immediately pulled over to congratulate him on his reading the sign, but there were too many cars on the road at the time.  Instead we showered him with ‘That’s great!”, and ‘Good job reading that sign!’.   To which he responded with:  “Yeah, yeah, but what does heart shape Vermont mean anyway?”

It’s not as though we are putting pressure on him to start reading the classics of Western literature at age 4, or to start writing sonnets about peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, but we do consider his education as a top priority.

So I suppose we might just be extra sensitive to this sort of thing, and maybe I’m a bit of a ‘helicopter parent’, but it was somewhat disconcerting to get the below note from his pre-school teacher recently.  He attends a pre-school program three times a week, for three hours each day.  There is some instruction, but the  focus is not entirely on learning so much as getting a bunch of four year olds together to socialize with each other and get them familiar with the idea of attending school on a regular basis.

Anyway, we get a monthly note from the teacher summarizing what they’ve been working on.  One of the standard questions is ‘What skills I’m working on this month, which the teacher answered with “Aknowledging teacher directions”.

20131107-171945.jpg

Ok, so I’m not the best speller myself.  “Acknowledging” is just one of those words that I think is commonly misspelled.  I admit to relying on spell check a lot,  and will also admit that my mastery of grammar is sometimes less than  superb.

But then, I noticed the answer to “What have I had fun doing at school this month:”

20131107-171954.jpg

 

“Playing imajinitive play using our work bench”

“imajinitive”  –  now that’s a creative way to spell that word!

Seems like “imaginative” would be a common word for a teacher, especially a pre-shool teacher.  In addition to the spelling, what does that sentence really mean ?   “Playing imajinitive play using our work bench”   I have no idea.  Is there some kind of “Story Bench” in class where he gathers everyone together and tells them all stories, does he tell stories about a bench, or do they just play things like Legos while sitting near this bench ?    I may never know.

It’s a good thing that they’re “Learning new letters and sounds” at this point and  not really focused on spelling.    I think from now on I’ll think of this teacher as the “Imajinitive Teacher”.

I’ll have to be sure that I run a spell check on this post before I hit “publish”, but if any misspellings do get through I’ll just blame them on the “auto correct” feature instead of my spelling or typing.

 

13 thoughts on “Spelling Counts

    • I used to see all kinds of irritating things in my former job in Advertising, especially things like using “nite” for night. I’m guessing that she is a pre-school teacher since she can’t spell!

  1. Wow, I guess you can’t get spellcheck when writing on paper, bummer… Well, at least that teacher won’t ask the kids to know how to spell these fancy words in preschool, so you should be OK. When you realize how little early education teachers are paid, I think you understand where they come from.

    • I know, she’s probably a bit overwhelmed with so many other kids to look after, even if it is just three hours. Points out that the parent has to make sure they are involved in education and don’t just assume the teachers will take care of everything.

  2. We all know younger people are very dependent on spell-check these days, but what bothers me more is that they make the decision that it is not important to consult a dictionary for situations when they can’t use spell-check. Is it because they consider spelling unimportant or are they just lazy? Well…let’s just hope this teacher is “imajinitive” with the students and loves kids…

  3. Pingback: A Month of Thanksgiving Day 12 | à la optimism

Leave a Reply

