Weekly Photo Challenge: The Hue of You

I was going to skip this week’s photo challenge since I don’t have a lot of photos that feature orange, but it is Fall in New England and there’s still a few trees with spectacular foliage around. So here’s at least a couple of photos featuring orange.

Why orange ? I’m not sure I noticed until someone asked our son what his favorite color was. He said ‘Mine is red, and Dada’s is orange!’ That came as kind of a surprise, but I think he’s right. Fall is the best season here in New Hampshire, and it’s the best season to see some orange outside.

I took these two photos this past Sunday while we went apple picking at a local farm.

20131022-172152.jpg

On one side of the small parking lot at the far was the tree pictured above, on the other side was the farm stand and its rows of pumpkins.

20131022-172216.jpg

Maybe Mr. C said my favorite color is orange since I will often wear this orange T-shirt when I do home improvement projects. It must be about 15 years old now, covered with splatters of various paint colors, though it is still mostly orange. It’s on it’s last legs, but it’ll still take a few large holes in it for me to get rid of it.

20131022-204236.jpg

One more story about the color orange:

A few years ago, Ms. J was looking for a new bike. She spent quite a few months comparing features, reading reviews, checking web sites for design features. Finally she picked a bike she thought would be a good fit for her needs. She called a local bike store to check if they had the model she was looking for, they did. So off we went to the bike store to test it out. She tried it out on the road and it did turn out to be a great choice. We went back into the store and I happened to see an orange Bianchi bicycle. Bianchi bikes are usually a striking light green color, similar to but not quite the same as the color Tiffany uses. But this one was different, it was orange.

‘Will that be all ?” the bike sales person asked.

“I’ll try out that Bianchi over there.” I said.

After doing absolutely no research, no checking of reviews, no checking of web sites for its design features, I bought the orange Bianchi bike.

Ok, so I guess orange really is my color.

Here it is, in the garage now since the season is unfortunately over now that we’re into October.

20131022-210650.jpg

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: The Hue of You

  1. such a great post Peter! now we know a little more about you and your penchant for orange … Mr C is an observant boy … and you could probably market the graphic design on the old orange t-shirt 🙂 I am glad to learn that you bought a bike on the basis of its colour … women are often accused of buying cars using only that criteria, what a funny thing it is when colour has nothing to do with function …. yet colour around us can alter our mood immediately!

    • Part of what I used to do for work was study consumer behavior, and you are right it is unusual for a guy to make decisions the way I sometimes do. A bit impulsive, but I do take care of the bike and have no plans on getting another – which is the frugal part of me taking over once the purchase is done.

      He is very observant regarding things like that, and will remember the oddest things sometimes. Subjects for future posts I guess!

Leave a Reply

