Mystery Train

How can an entire train engine go missing ?

For Mr. C’s birthday a couple of weeks ago, we bought him a Brio remote control train engine.  He already has a big box of wooden tracks and a variety of other engines, ramps, bridges, and tunnels.  So we thought this would be a good addition.  He can use a hand held remote to make the engine move forward and backward, and turn on its lights and have it make a whistle sound.

He played with it for about two days before the engine disappeared.   We still had the remote, but could not find the engine.  We looked everywhere.  Under beds, under chairs, in the basement, under radiators, in the closets.  This is a house that is filled with stuff.  It’s not as though it’s too messy, it’s just packed as full as it can be.  Ms. J and I got together when we were well into adulthood, so when we combined all of our stuff we ended up with two of everything.  Not just two of every kitchen item, like having two blenders and two coffee pots,  but also two of each piece of furniture.  We’ve been slowly paring down all this excess stuff, but it’s still a pretty packed house here.  So to look for anything that is lost can turn into a major project involving emptying out closets that are filled with boxes and looking under beds around more boxes.   We looked and looked, but  it was gone.    We still had the remote, but not the engine.

Then the engine appeared.  It was just sitting on the carpet in the living room one morning as if it had just been used. How did it get there ?   Did the cat take a joy ride in the middle of the night ?

Problem was that  now the remote had disappeared.  We looked everywhere again.  Under beds, under chairs, in the basement, under the radiators, in closets.  Now we had the engine, but no remote control.

I then lost track of the engine and it too went missing again.

A few days later the remote appeared under a bookcase.  Where did that come from ?

Since his birthday two weeks ago, he’s been able to play with the train for about 45 minutes.   Now it’s been about a week since we saw the engine last.  I’m trying to keep the remote in a safe place, and I’m watching the cat.

I’m sure it will turn up again,  most likely 10 years from now when Mr. C is a teenager

 

20130626-210230.jpg

18 thoughts on “Mystery Train

  1. Looks like you need a safe place to store those toys away. And I’d say, keep it high enough so that Mr C. can’t put his hands in there. I’m betting all my money on him. My youngest misplaces his toys all the time, then blames his brother and me for hiding them from him. Nice try.

    • Exactly the kind of thing my brothers and I would do.

      I will admit that I mostly want to find it since I want to get a chance to play with it myself.

  2. I soooo understand how looking for one lost item can result in sorting through stuff. My sister-in-law loaned us a Wii. We wanted to try it out and see if we liked it. My husband said that when it was dropped off there were two controls, but there was only one by the time I got home. We looked everywhere. I found a ton of toys under the couch and recliner. I tidied up shelves, through away junk that became dust-covered under the beds. We could not find the controller.
    My sister-in-law texted me the next morning to say she found the second control at her house.
    Sigh.

    • Oh boy, it must have been especially frustrating since it was not your Wii controller that was lost, we can take our time looking for the train.

      Seems like I’m fighting a losing battle by trying to keep all the parts of the various toys together too. We try to keep parts in either ziploc bags or little containers, but after awhile all the parts end up all mixed together anyway.

  3. I suspect you’ve had an outbreak of time and space warping wormholes in your house. Don’t be surprised if random things begin to appear: single socks, loose change, Interociters, Doctor Who …

  4. When my kids were young, it seemed like there was always something missing. Eventually I made a spot on a high shelf where “missing parts” could go to live until they found their “other parts”. It worked quite well, though I still have a ziplock with a few mystery items that I refuse to throw out. As soon as I do I know I’ll realize where they belong! Good luck with the train.

    • I’m still finding toy parts from the previous owners of our house, and we’ve been here for more than 10 years! By now they mostly turn up stuck behind the radiators, or I dig them up in the backyard.

      We have what I call the “Mystery Drawer”, it started as a portion of a sock drawer, for broken or missing parts. The toy parts are slowly taking over for the socks

  5. I should not laugh, but it reminds me of years of similar searches … we lived for six months in a campervan touring England and Europe in 1979, with three little boys … when we had to give the van back and take everything out of it we found all those precious little pieces of lego that had stubbornly remained missing for months!

    • Wow, six years traveling through Europe! What an adventure that must have been, and what a great experience to give to your kids!

      What has impressed me is that he’s not upset about the missing train, I’m definitely more concerned than he is. Though I’m really looking at the search as a challenge, or puzzle.

  6. Pingback: One of these things is not like the other | The Ad Dad

  7. Pingback: Mystery Train: Part Two – Trapped in the Closet | The Ad Dad

Leave a Reply

