An Appreciation

One unexpected thing I’ve found with blogging is how much you can learn about places around the world that you may not have thought too much about.  Being an East Coast person, I have often been guilty of ignoring the vast majority of the country beyond the coast.    S0 when I came across  The (Urban-Wildlife) Interface blog,  based in Ferndale, Arkansas.

The focus of the blog is the animal and plant life of the area.   I have to admit that I was surprised by the variety of wildlife in the area, as well as the quality of the photography presented by the blogger.   I’ve been following the blog for about a year now, occasionally leaving a comment, most of which I’m sure are along the lines of “Wow, how did you get that photo?”

Last week this blogger passed on the WordPress Family award to me, (to me at the old blog),  which considering the quality of the comments I’ve left kind of surprised me.  Part of the award is to pass the nomination on to 11 other bloggers.  Since I’ve done a few of these awards recently, I’m sorry to say that I’m out of people to nominate.  Guess I should follow more blogs!

But what I will do is to say that I’ve learned a lot about the Southeast from reading this blog, especially about the scope and variety of plant and animal life there.  I’ve also been inspired to try my hand at photographing wildlife as well.  So if you have an interest in photography or even the slightest interest in Natural History, check out this blog!

As an example, here’s a hawk that my son and I saw recently.   Not at all up to the standard of Ferndale, Arkansas,  but I did my best with what I had at the time,  an Iphone.

We were on our way into our local library, when Mr. C heard the sound of the hawk whooshing into the trees above us.  As the local squirrels went completely insane, I carefully considered the options available to me on the Iphone, (basically none), and took the photo.  OK, this is one of about 20 photos I took, 19 were either of a big blur, or were of the tangle of vines and branches, leaving me with one OK shot.  Oh, well, I’ll keep trying.

At least Mr. C had a good story to tell at pre-school the next day.  And a photo emailed to his teacher too to help tell the story.

20130508-122346.jpg

2 thoughts on “An Appreciation

    • There are more and more of them around here lately. There was a news story this morning that there is a Eagle nest in a park nearby. Probably a Golden Eagle, I missed the beginning of the news story.

Leave a Reply

